I’m not going to make it…

But I’m surprisingly okay with that!

NaNoWriMo – five days left and still below 20000 words which in itself is a failure but I am adopting a different perspective!

I have managed to write all my pivotal, action chapters from start to finish. It was like my subconscious knew I wouldn’t make it, so my brain rushed to get the main parts down so I could revisit and plump it out at my own leisurely pace. I’m just relieved to have the main story down, the rest seems like a casual stroll in the park which sure I will not accomplish by the 30th but I can spend time really looking over and adding when I feel like it. I admit defeat – time to grab a drink and chill out I think.

The main reason/excuse for completing NaNoWriMo? As lame as it sounds, my partner had 2 weeks off work and I wanted to make the most of it before baby comes! Also had a few birthday/christenings crop up. I know i know, that’s life. I also did not account for what I like to call “pregnant days”. The days where I wake up and the day seems so pointless, I debate getting out of bed. Or the days where I do get out of bed and the world suffers as a simple act would put me in a bad mood for a couple of days. Not just a bad mood. A dark abyss. The depths of hell. Thanks hormones!

So there we have it. Not completed or near to it but still a personal achievement and a work in progress. I have never written anything I have felt so committed to and excited about but this is different!

Well done to those writers who have/could still make it, you are an inspiration and source of jealousy to us all! 

Leave a Reply

